CBPS turns 20 years old!

Centre for Budget and Policy Studies (CBPS) is pleased to announce that the organisation has turned 20 years old! Marking this 20 year celebration, we organised two events on the 13th and 14th of March, 2018 at the Radisson Blu Atria Hotel in Bangalore.

The first event on 13th March 2018 was to celebrate the 20 years of CBPS. The keynote address was given by Dr. Shantha Sinha. This was followed by felicitating, honouring and thanking of past presidents of the CBPS Governing Board as well as employees (past and present) who have worked in CBPS for over 5 years.

This was followed by a panel discussion titled Policy Research Organisations: Dilemmas and Challenges”The panelists for this session were Mr. L V Nagarajan (Former Additional Chief Secretary, GoK) , Ms. Ramona Naqvi (Director, Strategic Partnerships, Global Development Network ), Dr. Vimala Ramachandran (Managing Director, Educational Resource Unit  and one of the founders and the first National Project Director of Mahila Samakhya), Dr. Pushkar Sinha (Director, International Centre, Goa) and Dr. Dipa Nag Chowdhury (MacArthur Foundation).

The second event was our Annual Seminar conducted on 14th of March, 2018. We first started with the launch of the CBPS Secondary Education Blog along with partners at Partnership to Strengthen Innovation and Practice in Secondary Education (PSIPSE). 

This was followed by two panel sessions that focused on two pertinent issues: education and decentralisation. The first panel discussion was titled “Education and Equity: Challenges of post primary education in India”. From the CBPS Team, Dr. Maithreyi R presented. The panelists for this session consisted of Dr. Vimala Ramachandran (ERU), Dr. Pushkar Sinha (IGC ), Dr. Dipa Nag Chowdhury (MacArthur Foundation). This session was chaired by Dr. Jyotsna Jha. 

The second panel discussion was titled “Decentralized Governance – how real?”. From the CBPS Team, Mr. Madhusudhan B V Rao presented. The panelists consisted of Mr. S M Vijayanand (Former Secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Rural Development)and Prof Vinod Vyasulu (Professor and Vice Dean, Jindal University). This session was chaired by Mr. A. Srinivas. 

To view the gallery please visit here.